Board of Ethics

The proper operation of a republic requires that public officers and employees be honest, impartial, and responsible to the people; that governmental decisions and policy be made in the proper channels of the governmental structure; that public office not be used for personal gain; and that the public have confidence in the integrity of its government. The purpose of the Board of Ethics is to promote these beliefs through enforcement of the ethical standards set forth in the ordinances and charter provisions of the City of Sioux Falls.

Number of Members


Special Qualifications

No member of the board may be an officer or employee of the city or any other governmental unit, including a school district, or hold any political party office.

Residency/Registered Voter Requirement

Must be a resident and registered voter of Sioux Falls.

Summary of Duties

Regulates conflicts of interest of officers and employees of the City.

Bonnie Woolam
Clerk for the Board of Ethics
City Attorney’s Office
224 W. Ninth Street
P.O. Box 7402
Sioux Falls, SD 57104


Board of Ethics Members

  • Sue Roust (Chair) - Term Expires - March 2025*
  • Keith Severson - Term Expires - October 2025
  • Glen Severson - Term Expires - March 2025
  • Carol Muller - Term Expires - July 2027
  • Matthew Burns - Term Expires - December 2027

* Second Term