Library Board of Trustees

Number of Members

7 (4 Mayoral Appointments)

Special Qualifications

Appointments to the Library Board are made by the City Council and County Commission at their first regular meetings in January or whenever a vacancy occurs. Members of the board include four citizens appointed by Mayor and Council; one citizen appointed by the Minnehaha County Commission; one liaison from the Minnehaha County Commission; and the Library Director.

Residency/Registered Voter Requirement

Must be a resident and registered voter of Sioux Falls. (Mayoral appointments only.)

Summary of Duties

Sets library-specific policies and provides citizen input and recommendations for administrative actions to the Library Director and to the governing bodies. Advocates for library services to meet the ever-changing needs of the community.

Library Director
Siouxland Libraries
200 North Dakota Avenue
P.O. Box 7403
Sioux Falls, SD 57117-7403


Library Board of Trustees Members

  • Joel Rosenthal - Term Expires - July 2025*
  • Lorie Hogstad - Term Expires - July 2025*
  • Jodi Fick, Library Director - Indefinite Term
  • Jen Bleyenberg (County Commission Liaison)
  • Anne Land - Term Expires - July 2025* 
  • Adam Emerson - Term Expires - May 2027*
  • Justine Murtha - Term Expires - October 2024

* Second Term


Authority Agreement

Authority Agreement of the Library Board of Trustees

The Joint Cooperative Library Agreement between the City of Sioux Falls and Minnehaha County provides for the existence of Siouxland Libraries. The Statutory authority for this agreement is granted by SDLC 1-24 entitled” Joint Exercise of Governmental Powers” and SDLC 14-2, entitled “Public Libraries” (14-2-29(3)), and the City’s Home Rule Charter. The agreement was approved by the Sioux Falls City Council with the adoption of Resolution No. 154-02 and by the Minnehaha County Commission on December 16, 2002.