Mayor's Youth Council

Students who live in Sioux Falls, who will be juniors and seniors for the 2024-2025 school year are invited to apply for the Mayor's Youth Council. Private, public, and home-educated students, who live in Sioux Falls, are encouraged to apply to have your voice heard in local government and develop your leadership skills. Applications are due Friday, March 31, 2024.

Apply Now


The purpose of the Mayor's Youth Council is to provide youth an opportunity to share input on community issues, learn about City government, and impact the community through group volunteer efforts. Meetings will be held monthly during the school year, in addition to possible other activities and events. For public and private schools, students may be asked to have parents sign a release form to be dismissed during school for these meetings.

Group photo in front of the City logo

Youth Council in front of City Hall

2023-24 Mayor's Youth Council

The following students were selected to serve on the council for the 2023-2024 school year: Aayush Mohapatra, Betelihiem Tecleab, Champ Baumgarten, and Monica Ajith, Jefferson High School; Adeline Roths and Ava Gonzalez, Lincoln High School; Emma Ambroz, O’Gorman High School; David Yusten Jr., Nathan Arens, Nicholas Maas, Savannah Woods, Roosevelt High School; Calvin Adamson, Sioux Falls Christian; Maddie Johnson, Sunday Rose, Alanna Smith, and Siyanne Redda, Washington High School.

Apply Now

Planning Team

The Mayor’s Youth Council is led by a core planning team of City team members: Kim Stulken, Employee Relations Manager; Dustin Hansen, Street Operations Manager; Chris Myers, Water Superintendent; Chad Quissell, Training Facility/Emergency Management Coordinator; Sgt. Michelle Hockett, school resource officer with Sioux Falls Police; and Vanessa Gomez, Mayor’s Office Public Relations & Communications Officer.

For more information, contact the Mayor’s Youth Council at